Waiting in Line

Reposted material. Such as stories that have been copied from other sites and are not your own. If they are your own, you may put them in the 'stories' section. When posting please link to the original URL and the author. Please remember to copy the story in full.
Fred
Site Staff

Waiting in Line

Post by Fred »

http://www.brobible.com/college/article ... hroom-bar/
(Posted at the Old Site)

The last time I was in New Orleans was on Millennium night — the cusp of the year 2000. I’d never been; the atmosphere was similar to Mardi Gras — you know, chicks flashing their tits for beads, Hurricanes practically coming out of the taps, bros getting arrested every two minutes — but with thousands more tense people wondering if some cyber terrorist was going to create some Y2K clusterfuck at 12:01 a.m. Thankfully, that never happened.

I was a freshman in college and still not of drinking age, but I had a nice older brother along with me, supplying an endless stream of booze. Now you’d think that that’d sound like the greatest night of my young life — but it was marred by something so natural, yet so incredibly frustrating: After several hours of boozing, I really needed to pee, and it got to the desperation point.

If you’ve ever been to a place like New Orleans’ Bourbon Street, you’ll know that there aren’t many bathroom options. If, for example, your hotel is a mile away from the action as ours was, you’re pretty much up shit creek without a paddle all night long. All the restaurants and bars have lines snaking out of them, so you might as well just piss your pants. But I wasn’t going to fucking do that. I wasn’t going to piss W-I-L-L against a wall either, because that’s a one-way ticket to public urination; and let me tell you, I saw a friend get ticketed for that shit right in front of me one night years ago, and that little stream of whitish-yellow cost him about $1,000 and a court date. Fuck that, right?